Accreditation FAQs

ACA accreditation is an important part of Netop’s ongoing commitment to safety and quality. Here are a few frequently asked questions:

Q: What areas of Netop’s operation are reviewed in the accreditation process?

A: There are nearly 300 standards in 9 key areas of operation:

  • Facilities & food service
  • Transportation
  • Health & wellness
  • Operational management
  • Human resources
  • Program design and activities
  • Aquatics activities & management
  • Program adventure & challenge
  • Trips & travel

Q: How does ACA establish the accreditation standards?

A: American Camp Association collaborates with experts from the American Academy of Pediatrics, the American Red Cross, and other youth-serving agencies to assure that current practices at the camp reflect the most up- to-date, research-based standards in camp operation.

Q: What’s the difference between state licensing of camps and accreditation by ACA?

A: Accreditation is voluntary and ACA accreditation assures families that camps have made the commitment to a safe, nurturing environment for their children. Licensing is mandatory and requirements vary from state to state. ACA standards are recognized by courts of law and government regulators as the standards of the camp community.

Q: How do ACA standards exceed state licensing requirements?

A: ACA goes beyond basic requirements for health, facilities, cleanliness, and food service into specific areas of programming, including camp staff, waterfront procedures, emergency management plans, health care and management. ACA applies separate standards for activities such as boating, archery, adventure trips, transportation and events out of camp.

« Back to Accreditation